breaking news New

Enugu West Senatorial District

Enugu State has 3 senatorial districts– Enugu East, Enugu West and Enugu North constituencies. Senator Ike Ekweremadu represents Enugu West district. The constituency is made up of five Local Government Areas namely, Aninri, Awgwu, Ezeagu, Oji-River, and Udi Local Government Areas. Aninri Local Government Area has its headquarters in the railroad town of Ndeaboh. It has an area of 364 km² and a population of 133,723. Awgu is the Headquarters of Awgu Local Government Area. The town hosts the Orientation Training camp for National Youth Service corps members posted to Enugu State. The present Awgu LGA was created out of the greater Awgu Local government area which included Aninri and Oji-River local government areas. It has a population of 390,681, according to the 2006 census. Ezeagu Local Government Area has its headquarters in the town of Aguobu-Owa. It has an area of 633 km² and a population of 169,718. Oji River Local Government Area has its headquarters in the town of Oji River. It has an area of 403 km² and a population of 126,587. .Udi Local Government Area has its headquarters in Udi. It has an area of 897 km² and a population of 234,002. Udi is known most notably for its original palm wine. The famous Orie Agu market is without a doubt the one place to find the tastiest unadulterated palm wine. In addition to palm wine and other agricultural products, Udi is also blessed with notable personalities, who have distinguished themselves in various fields of endeavour. ENUGU STATE Enugu State is an inland state in southeastern Nigeria. Its capital is Enugu, from which the state - created in 1991 from the old Anambra State - derives its name. The principal cities in the state are Enugu and Nsukka. The word "Enugu" means "the top of the hill". The first European settlers arrived in the area in 1909, led by a British mining engineer, Kikson. In his quest for silver, he discovered coal in the Udi Ridge. Colonial Governor of Nigeria Frederick Lugard took keen interest in the discovery, and by 1914 the first shipment of coal was made to Britain. As mining activities increased in the area, a permanent cosmopolitan settlement emerged, supported by a railway system. Enugu acquired township status in 1917, and became strategic to British interests. Foreign businesses began to move into Enugu, the most notable of which were John Holt, Kingsway Stores, British Bank of West Africa and United Africa Company. From Enugu, the British administration was able to spread their influence over the Southern Province of Nigeria. The colonial past of Enugu is today evidenced by the Georgian building styles and meandering narrow roads within the residential area originally reserved for the whites, an area which is today called the Government Reserved Area (GRA). From being the capital of the Eastern Region (now divided into nine States), Enugu became the capital of East Central State, old Anambra State, and now the capital of the present Enugu State through a process of state creation and diffusion of administrative authority. The state in the South Eastern part of Nigeriaand is borderd by Abia and Imo States to the South, Ebonyi State to the East, Benue State to the Northeast, Kogi State to the northwest and Anambra State to the West.Though land-locked, Enugu is approximatelytwo and a half hours drive away from Port Harcourt, Calabar and Warri, and other coastal cities with major shipping ports. Enugu is also located within an hour's drive from Onitsha and 2 hours' drive from Aba, two notable trading centres in Nigeria. The city is also located within 5 hours drive from Abuja and 7 hours from Lagos, the administrative and commercial headquarters of Nigeria respectively. Lying partly within the semi-tropical rain forest belt of the south, the State spreads towards the north through a land area of approximately 8,727.1 square kilometres. Its physical features change gradually from tropical rain forest to open wood-land and then to Savannah. Apart from a chain of low hills, running through Abakaliki, Ebonyi State in the east to Nsukka in the north -west, and southwards through Enugu and Agwu, the rest of the state is made up of low land separated by numerous streams and rivulets, the major ones of which are the Adada River and the Oji River.